Destination: Content

Well, it’s finally here.  We are packing up our suitcases and traveling today overseas.

I have never been to Europe before, so this is a really big deal for me.  I’m continually amazed at the experiences my children are lucky enough to have at a young age.  No one I knew growing up went to Europe.  My kids know people who travel out of the country all of the time; friends of ours just got back from Italy.

I’m excited and apprehensive.  I don’t speak either language of the two countries we’ll be visiting, and neither do my children.  My husband, however, does, so I know we’ll be fine.  It’s more of the independent streak I have, not wanting to feel like a child and having to ask him what everyone is saying.  Or have him correct me when I do try to speak.  But I’ll need to get over it, because I’m so fortunate to be able to do this.

There are so many times when I question the path I chose in my life, the choices I’ve made, the place I’ve landed.  But then there are other times, days like today, when I marvel at the wonders those choices have brought to me.  My three beautiful kids.  Being able to go to Europe.  Living in an area I never even imagined growing up.  Having the chance to send my kids to college and watch them thrive and flourish without (too much) worry.

I remember thinking when I was growing up in a house where money was too scarce that all I wanted to have as an adult was the ability to be “comfortable”.  To not have to worry about each penny, to be able to know that you’ll be able to pay the mortgage every month.  And here I am.  I’m there.

That’s not to say that things are perfect around here.  My husband and I are, continually, a work in progress.  But as a friend of mine said the other day, “It seems like you used to always have one foot out the door.  But now it seems like you’ve figured out a way to make it work.”  There are many days when it doesn’t exactly feel like that, but I guess it must be true.

So today?  Today I am content.  I am looking forward to a once in a lifetime trip that I could have never imagined for myself even just ten years ago.  I am amazed that my special needs son, who five years ago could barely handle sitting through a Mass can now travel on an airplane and look forward to going a place where everything will be different.  I’m sure it won’t be easy, but I know we’ll get through it, and even enjoy it.  How wonderful.  How amazing.

If I am lucky I will post from our destination.  Or maybe the lack of posts you see here will mean I am just too busy having a fabulous time.  Instead of writing about life, I might just choose to live it.  🙂

Leave a Reply

