Baby Steps…Into Big Girl Steps

Well I certainly don’t want to have this blog turn into a weight loss blog after the monumental stories and things I have shared here.  But if I have any possible regular readers out there you may be wondering where I am at with my struggles.

I completed Week 4 of the Couch 2 5K program this morning.  What that means for the lay person is that little old me who could barely run a minute at a time three and a half weeks ago can now run 5 minutes at once, and I ran 18 minutes total this morning, in stretches varying from 2 minutes to 5 minutes in length.

I’m kind of amazed by the progress, actually.  Everyone has always raved about this program, but until I was actually doing it this week, I would never have believed I could be successful at it.  There was a moment on my last workout, on the trail through my local park, when I realized that I wasn’t hating it, that I wasn’t wondering every second when the walk portion would kick in, where I was actually almost enjoying the running.

The running hadn’t been enough to kick start my weight loss, though.  So last week I started using a site called MyFitnessPal.com and starting logging my food.  I know from Weight Watchers that the only real way to get on top of the weight loss game is to track your food, and to stay within some sort of reasonable limits.  MFP.com asks you your current weight, asks you how much you’d like to lose, your activity level, height, etc and then calculates a target calorie goal.  This is exactly what Weight Watchers does, but with their Points system.  MFP logs exercise and gives you bonus calories for the ones you burn (just like WW) and gives you a spot to log your water intake.

But my favorite thing about MFP is when you finish your log for the day.  It uses some sort of alogrithim and tells you that if you ate/exercised this way for 5 weeks, you’d weigh “x”.  I was astounded when I first saw it.  It gives you real, concrete incentive to keep going.  In five weeks I could be down 7 lbs!  Woohoo!  Let me not eat that cookie and drink another glass of water!

And as a result I’m down over 3 lbs from last week’s weight today.  But more importantly, I feel in control, for the first time in a long time.  And it’s funny how that feeling of well being and control bleeds over to other areas….I feel more calm, more peaceful than I have in months.

It’s a good thing that I am (finally) confident that I will be able to continue.

One Response

  1. You go girl!!! Keep up the good work. I need to get out there and start the exercise portion. and I might have to look into the website you mentioned. Thanks for the suggestion!!! And congrats on the weight loss!!

Leave a Reply

