Working Girl

“Would you like to come work for me?”  Jill asked the question the day after Kyle’s “living room” show in her art studio.

It had been a strange turn of events.  Kyle hosted all of these small, intimate shows in people’s homes, and I’d wanted to do one since we’d moved to CT; Kyle was only two hours away and so it would be cheap to hire him.  But unfortunately for me, my home was not suited to this type of event at all; in order to make it any sort of cost effective, I needed people to come, at least twenty; no room in my house could hold that many people.

My friend Peggy, whose daughter was in Michael’s special needs preschool, had suggested the local art studio.  I didn’t know the owner well at all, but she did, and since kids were in school during the day the space would probably be free.  Since most of the women I wanted to invite were stay at home mothers whose kids would be in school (thus allowing them the flexibility to attend a rock concert of sorts during the daytime), the timing seemed ideal.  She talked to Jill and hooked the whole thing up.

The event had gone seamlessly; a few of my Rick Springfield fan friends locally filled in the crowd along with some of my new friends that I’d meet through Melinda’s and Michael’s schools.  Kyle was his usual charming self, turning it on hard for these thirtysomething mothers who found the idea of a rock star coming to their tiny little town intriguing.  Peggy and I had cooked a buffet of food for the friends to enjoy after the show, and most of them purchased Kyle’s music to take home with them.  All in all, a win.

Jill had been the most surprising reaction.  Not only had she loved Kyle’s music, but she grilled him about how he knew Peggy and I, and before long he was singing my praises to her as a hard working, capable web designer who took on all sorts of tasks and just figured them out along the way.  Jill took me aside and mentioned that she was looking for just such a “girl friday”, and to give her a call the next day.

I’d been prepared by visiting her website.  I felt a little guilty doing exactly what my replacement at rickspringfield.com must have done; cataloging the shortcomings and missteps there and creating a list of what I could do differently and better.  We talked for a bit on the phone before she asked her question.

“I had been hoping you’d ask me,” I answered.  With Michael in full day kindergarten and Melinda in second grade, and Z off in high school, my days were flexible enough to allow me a few days a week of employment.  This still would leave me with plenty of time to volunteer at the schools, which I did at least five to ten hours a week, in addition to teaching Melinda’s religious education classes at church.  I’d been hoping to find something during the kids’ school hours, and this would fit the bill perfectly.

“Come in tomorrow and we’ll get started,” Jill offered.  “See you at ten?”

“Sounds great,” I answered.  It might not be glamourous, or fancy, but it was real.  I was excited about real.

One Response

  1. […] It’s not a huge job, mind you.  I’ve been working on and off at our local children’s art studio for five years.  Jill and I started working together after she allowed me to host a Kyle Vincent concert at her studio in late 2006.  I didn’t know her then; a friend I’d met at my son’s preschool did, though, and when I wondered if all of my girlfriends would fit into my small roomed house for such a “living room show”, she suggested Jill’s studio close by.  By the end of the event Jill was talking to Kyle about business, and he mentioned that I did his website and graphic design.  A few weeks later, she approved my mock up for her site, and we’ve been working together ever since. […]

Leave a Reply

