Wedding

Things I Remember About My Wedding Day, 12/96:

I loved my hair, although with my roots my hair looked brown in all of the photos

I wish someone had told me about eyebrow waxing

No one was paying attention to my sister’s kids while we got ready upstairs, so her daughter never ate that day.  She threw up later as a result.

I wished my Dad didn’t wear his glasses in the photos (a lot of this is sounding petty)

I smiled the whole way down the aisle.  My sister cried and I always thought that was silly; you should be happy on your wedding day.  I loved looking out on everyone I loved as I walked and focused on that.

Our priest made a huge faux pas in the homily.  He was trying to be funny,  talking about pleasing the in laws, and I could see it coming well before he said it.  He said something about me and my mother in law, and then… something about R trying to please HIS mother in law.  It would have been a crowd pleaser had my mother had been alive; I’m sure he had used the line before.  I remember vividly forcing myself to keep a mask of serenity on my face, but I was furious.  An audible gasp went up from my side of the church when it happened.   It made the ceremony feel like he didn’t know us at all.

I got very choked up during the vows, and my portion were not audible to anyone but the priest and R.  I was full of emotion, on so many levels.  I hate that at other people’s weddings, so I was disappointed when it happened to me.  I should have practiced or something.

I loved the part of the ceremony where we gave flowers to the statue of Mary.   It was a nice break from being on display to the audience; we faced the congregation for most of the ceremony.

We went through the McDonald’s drive thru for the aforementioned niece after the ceremony.

My father had given an amazing speech at my sister’s wedding, and I expected something similar at my own.  I remembered it well; he’d started with a quote from Les Miserables.  Since my father and I shared a love of Broadway musicals, I expected some similar epiphany with a great quote at my own.  His speech was instead very predictable, generic and totally unlike him.  It struck me as odd.

My uncle, my mother’s brother (the one my mother waited to see before her death), gave a very beautiful speech on her behalf.  It was very touching; we are not very close, so it was a beautiful surprise.

My father in law, too, gave a very moving speech.  He talked about how the family was not only gaining a daughter in law, but a “bonus” with Zach.  My whole family was impressed and many of them were crying.

R and I were expected to speak, but again, I found myself speechless.  R made a comment too about “our new family” which was very nice.  At that point I was nervous about R’s family, which greatly outnumbered my own.  They were glamourous, European and I felt completely out of place in their midst, even at my own wedding.

My sister cried like a baby during the Father Daughter dance.  I did a bit too, so did he, but my sister was off the charts.  Everyone was talking about it.

The DJ played the wrong Celine Dion song, but I didn’t tell anyone that I was upset about it.  The one I had wanted, “The Way You Loved Me” reminded me of my mother, and that was really why I had asked for it.

The food and desserts were beautiful, except the tables for the wedding cake were not level.  This gave the cake a decided lilt, which we all watched all night to see if the cake collapsed.  It did not.

R surprised me at the end of the evening by having booked a hotel suite for us. We had originally thought to just go back home, where Z and my father would also be.  We weren’t leaving on our honeymoon for a week, to take advantage of my scheduled break at school, so after the wedding, it was back to Real Life.  I had been kind of irritated by the plan, but went along with it because it had seemed practical.   It was a perfect surprise, even though I normally hate surprises.

And after all of that, I was married.

One Response

  1. […] with Z older now, me being far more judgmental than they ever were.  On the night of our wedding, R’s father had stood up in front of the entire reception and called Zach his grandson, and an ….  Even as their biological grandchildren had started arriving, I never saw any difference in the […]

Leave a Reply

