Happy Blogoversary to Me!

I can’t believe I’ve been working on this blog for a whole year.  My first post in the journey, titled “Paper Routes and Sunrises”, was written on 1/13/10.   At the time, I thought that it would be a great exercise to blog back in time during my fortieth year.  I had planned on writing a post every single day, and at the end I would have 365 memories to put together and hopefully make some sense out of.  I struggled with where to start; my first memory was of my grandmother’s funeral in 1974, just before my fourth birthday.  But I found that I couldn’t really accurately describe any of the wispy memories I had until the scene I described in my first post, which occurred the summer before my 10th birthday.

I struggled at first to meet my daily posting goal.  I couldn’t find my voice and my early entries seem disjointed to me.  I worried much about audience; was anyone out there reading my drivel?   After a few months, I was ready to throw in the towel. In July I all but quit.  I wrote only 8 posts during those 31 days.   But then something clicked, and I started to find my groove (and I learned how to schedule posts!).

By August 15, I recommitted to the blog and haven’t missed a day since.  I’m not going to say it is always easy; I have shed many tears as I’ve written about my parents’ angry divorce and its aftermath, my mother’s illness and death, the advent of my single parenthood,  my broken engagement and my struggles to find Mr. Right.   But overall I am very happy I’ve reached back and dusted off the good, the bad and the ugly. I’m not sure I’ve made as much sense as I’d hoped out of the events in my life so far, but what I have found (and didn’t expect to find) was a level of peace with my choices and the circumstances I’ve found myself in.

Instead of 365 memories as of today I’ve logged in 272.  Which means I still have plenty of ground to cover, so I’ll continue until I hit my present day life.  I haven’t decided what I will do then, but as I get closer I am sure I’ll find the answer revealing itself to me.

So to anyone who is out there actually reading my life story, thank you for joining the ride.

PS:  Anyone wanting to give me a blogversary present can delurk in the comments!  I’d love to know who is sharing my journey along with me.

4 Responses

  1. Congratulations!!!!

    I don’t think that I have been following your blog from the beginning, but I jumped in somewhere around third grade. I have really enjoyed your blog and I am glad that you decided to keep writing!

    Your blog is one of my favorites.

    PS. If you really wanted to indulge your readers, you could move your scheduled posting time from 9:00am back to around 7:00am. (Then I wouldn’t have to delay starting to homeschool my children just so I could read your latest post.) 😉

  2. Hi! I’m a total lurker. I found your blog through blogher a couple of months ago, and I’ve been following ever since. My dad passed away from lung cancer when I was 22, only a few months before I got engaged (13 years ago now). It’s been cathartic to read through someone else’s experiences with a terminally ill parent. Some feelings are the same, some aren’t. It’s made me think – and remember – in a good way.

    Thanks so much for sharing your story.

  3. @HNRAcademy: Thank you very much for your kind words. I am going to move up my scheduling time…I originally did have it earlier but then started pushing it back (I honestly can’t remember why…just got into the habit).

    @Deborah: I’m so sorry about your father. It’s a whole different thing to lose a parent as young as we did, I think. To this day I coach others (including my own mother in law) as to how to get through losing a parent. It’s hard to know that the lost parent has missed so much…as I go through the various stages of parenting, I long to ask my mother so much. I think that’s been the hardest part of the journey. Thank you for going through my story with me…I too found comfort by talking to others who had gone through it.

    Thank you both for commenting! 🙂

  4. Hello!
    I think I have commented before but… I am a Rick Springfield fan and I found your blog though a Google alert for his name. I am 41 and have very much enjoyed reading your story of growing up during the same time I did. I am also a teacher. I haven’t had a computer since just after Christmas so I have spent the last hour or so catching up. So, I’m sorry this comment is belated. I am captivated by your story and I really think you could turn it into a book that would be publishable. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

