Love Is In The Air

Ray came down to my house  that November.  I had purchased tickets to the Billy Joel concert at the Silverdome, and my mother agreed to let him spend the weekend at our house just as I had at his.  Of course, he didn’t own his own car, so this meant that I had to drive up to get him; a four hour round trip.  By then I was so deeply hooked in that I not only didn’t mind, I looked forward to it.

We drove to the stadium and had nosebleed seats.  It didn’t matter.  I loved Billy Joel, and I couldn’t get enough of the fact that I was going to share this experience with my “boyfriend”.  I snuggled close to him as we walked, hands intertwined.  He leaned over and kissed me at stoplights.  He whispered the words to some of the songs in my ear during the show.  I was in love, and it wasn’t going to be too much longer before I was going to have to share the news.

When we woke up the next morning, Ray wasn’t the only boy who had slept over.  My sister’s boyfriend had also spent the night, and as we all bumbled around the kitchen together getting coffee and toast, my sister and her boyfriend broke the news:  they had gotten engaged the night before.  They were going to plan a huge, white wedding, the kind that would take years to get in place.

It was the kind of news that made me even happier to have a boy I loved in my life.  It was all new and exciting, and love was in the air.  I was happy for them, I was happy for me, and I was happy that for once we were celebrating something instead of worrying about something.  I had people in my life who cared about me, who thought I was special and important.  I was on cloud nine.

I wasn’t sure how long it would last, but in that moment…I was truly happy.

One Response

  1. […] and her fiance Chris had been engaged since my junior year, three years ago.  They’d settled on November, 1989 as the date for their dream wedding long […]

Leave a Reply

