A Word from the Future

I have had a headache for two days, and that’s why I haven’t blogged.  The last time I missed, I had stomach flu.  Don’t worry, I plan on spilling the beans on what happened the night that I lied to my mother and stayed out with my girlfriends and the Older Boys.  Promise.

It’s funny, though, as I go through my dusty old memories as I live my life today.  I get headaches, for example.  My mother used to suffer terribly from headaches, as I blogged about here. She never really did get to the bottom of them at all, though she did start visiting a chiropractor, and they eased up.  While my mother put full faith in the doctor that adjusted her back, I never have.  I’ve never been to one and don’t plan to.  I don’t think my headaches stem from any compressions in my spine as my mother’s probably did.  But I do get them, and I’ve had some that have rivaled some of the worst of hers too.   I have had my current one for two days, and normally they hang on for a while.  I went to a doctor last year about it, and had an MRI that came back normal.  But I came out with some heavy duty $5 a pill pills, and I probably will have to take one of them today.  I never got the headaches with any regularity until after I turned 30.

I wish I could talk to her about them.

I have three kids now, and as I go through my dusty old memories, the difference in the world today and all of their experiences is shocking to me.  For many reasons.  It’s fun  to write about the time we got our first microwave oven, our first experience with cable tv.  Our first VCR comes soon in my story, but our first TV with a remote comes much later.  These are things my children think are as much of your home (well, VCR maybe not, DVR or DVD perhaps) as the sink and the toilet.  And cell phones…oy.  We drove all of those times to Grand Rapids and you never even thought about how alone you were on the highway.  We never did until we had our accident that winter and had to wait and wait for the police simply to find us out there in the snow.

I’ll be back to my chronological blogging soon, as I caffeinate and medicate my sore head, but I wanted to get something down here lest any of my three readers think I’ve abandoned the project.  I haven’t.  I swear.

Leave a Reply

